Updated October 2026

Data Monetization Companies: 32 Buyers, Marketplaces and Brokers Compared (2026)

Data monetization companies pay businesses for the data their operations already produce. In 2026 most of that money comes from AI training, and the buyers fall into six types: AI data vendors, marketplaces, wind-down buyers, AI labs, brokers and big tech. Below is every one we have found, with what each buys, what it pays and what to watch for.

Data monetization companies in brief

All 32 data monetization companies compared

Disclosure. Bright Info compiled this list and appears in it as the only sell-side broker. We never buy data and never take a position in it. We are paid a commission by the buyer the owner chooses, from the closed deal, and the commission is the same whichever buyer wins, so we have no stake in which company on this page you pick. "Watch for" notes come from public reporting, not our own claims. Listing is not endorsement, and nothing here is legal advice; your counsel reviews every license before signature.

Showing 32 of 32 companies

32 data monetization companies: type, what they buy, typical price, deal terms and what to watch for, as of October 2026
Company Type What they buy Typical price Deal terms Watch for
Bright Info Active Broker Runs competitive bids among the buyers below for your operating record Market price via bidding Buyer-paid commission from closed deals only; you pay nothing; license terms negotiated for you None found
micro1 Active Data vendor SOPs, internal docs, CRM, operating records $100K–$1M+ License; you keep ownership; sample reviewed first De-identifies in-house (flagged in Spirit case)
Handshake AI Active Data vendor Operating data from 1,000+ tools (Slack, Gmail, NetSuite, QuickBooks) $100K–$4M License; 20+ staff and 3+ years; NDA De-identifies after the data leaves you
Mercor Active Data vendor Data from 100+ business tools Not published Wire 2–4 weeks after signing March 2026 data breach; class actions pending
Scale AI Active Data vendor De-identified structured records $10K–$1M+ (reported) Partnership; recurring revenue possible 49% owned by Meta
Polyshares Active Data vendor Slack, email, Drive, CRM, tickets, call recordings, ERP $100K–$2M+ Net 30–60; published deals are perpetual and exclusive Perpetual exclusive licenses; 14-day offers
Telegraph Lab Active Data vendor Slack/Teams, CRM, tickets, ERP, drives, CAD $100K–$4M (reported) Milestone payments; 30+ staff and 3+ years Thin public footprint
Ooak Data Active Data vendor Gmail, Slack, Notion, Jira, Drive, SharePoint $20K–$1M (reported) Paid in 2–4 weeks; raw copy deleted in 30 days None found
Appen Active Data vendor Operating docs, escalation records, ERP/HR/contracts Quoted per deal License; paid on acceptance; no seller costs None found
Turing Active Data vendor Codebases, design docs, test logs, wikis Tens of thousands per codebase Not published Resells to labs at an undisclosed markup
Replay Active Data vendor Operating company data $10K–$1M+ (reported) Upfront plus perpetual revenue share Same operator as Sunset
Surge AI Active Data vendor Archives with disagreements and judgment calls Not published Not published None found
AfterQuery Active Data vendor Codebases; builds office simulations Not published Not published None found
Snorkel AI Active Data vendor Expert data Not published Not published None found
SimpleClosure Active Wind-down Code, Slack, email and Drive from closing startups $10K–$100K Brokers or buys; strips PII (beta) End buyers not disclosed to founders
Sunset Active Wind-down Chat, docs, tickets, code, user logs $10K–$100K (reported) Outright purchase; separate shutdown fee; no revenue share Is both your shutdown provider and the buyer
Grepped Active Marketplace Chats, codebases, docs, ledgers $20K–$5M Paid in as little as 7 days Payment terms differ across its pages
DataVendor (HUD) Active Marketplace Codebases, RL environments $5K baseline; you keep 80% You set the price; milestone delivery None found
Protege Active Marketplace Media, audio, de-identified health records, imaging Revenue share Licensing None found
Troveo Active Marketplace Video, audio, gaming, robotics, business data $1–$4 per video minute; you keep 60% Paid 45–60 days after the lab pays About 95% of licenses are exclusive
Wirestock Active Marketplace Images, video, 3D content Per project Paid projects None found
Human Native AI Acquired by Cloudflare, Jan 2026 Marketplace Licensed multimedia Undisclosed Moving into Cloudflare None found
Miro Advisory Active Broker Company data (unspecified) Not published No fee disclosure Anonymous operator; domain registered Apr 2026
Google Active AI lab Enterprise records (Spirit), app code, publisher content $10M (Spirit bid) Non-exclusive code license; approves the de-identifier Deals draw political scrutiny that can delay closing
SpaceX AI (xAI) Exploring AI lab Customer and operating data from distressed startups None disclosed Informal talks Irish privacy regulator probe
OpenAI Active AI lab Publisher content; non-public datasets >$250M over 5 years (News Corp) Interest form None found
Meta Active AI lab Publisher content Up to $50M/yr (News Corp) Not published Owns 49% of Scale AI
Anthropic Active AI lab Training environments, through vendors Not disclosed Buys via vendors None found
Amazon Active AI lab News content (NYT) $20–25M/yr (reported) Not published None found
Microsoft Active AI lab Nonfiction books (HarperCollins) $5,000 per title (reported) 3-year opt-in license None found
Apple Active AI lab Images, publisher archives $25–50M (Shutterstock, reported) Not published None found
Cloudflare Active Big tech Web content via Pay Per Crawl You set a per-crawl price Charged to AI crawlers None found

Prices are as published by each company or reported in the press as of October 2026; ranges marked "reported" come from third-party sources and may differ from what a buyer offers you. "Watch for" notes come from public reporting, not our own claims. Company names link to each company’s own site. Listing is not endorsement. See sources and methodology.

What is a data monetization company?

A data monetization company pays a business for data that business already holds, or helps it license that data to someone who will. In 2026 the buyers are mostly AI developers. Labs training models and agents need real records of how work gets done, so they pay for team chat, email archives, CRM history, support tickets, code with its tickets and documents, call recordings and finance exports. One label covers companies with very different roles: some buy outright, some resell to labs at a markup, some run a marketplace, and a few work for the seller.

This page lists every company we have found that buys, licenses, brokers or resells business data for AI training. It leaves out consumer data brokers, ad-tech audience sellers and analytics vendors that help you use your own data internally. Those are a different market that happens to share the name. For the price ranges and the sources behind them, see what company data sells for and our sources and methodology.

The six types of data monetization companies

The type filter above uses the same six groups. Each one buys differently, pays differently and carries a different risk.

1. AI data vendors (13)

Vendors such as micro1, Handshake AI, Mercor, Polyshares, Telegraph Lab and Ooak Data license an operating company’s records and supply them to AI labs. They are the most active buyers of Slack, email, CRM and ticket history, and the ones with published ranges pay $100K to $4M per license. Most de-identify the data themselves after it leaves you, and several publish perpetual, exclusive terms with offers that expire in 14 days. Scale AI, Appen, Turing and Surge AI are established labelling vendors that have added company data to what they buy.

2. Data marketplaces (6)

On Grepped, DataVendor (HUD), Protege, Troveo, Wirestock and Human Native AI you list the dataset, set or accept a price, and the platform takes a cut when a buyer pays. The two that publish a split keep 20% to 40%. Troveo, Protege and Wirestock focus on video, audio, images and health imaging; Grepped and DataVendor list chats, codebases and documents. Payment usually follows the lab’s payment, sometimes by 45 to 60 days.

3. Wind-down buyers (2)

SimpleClosure and Sunset buy or broker the archives of startups that are closing, with published deals of $10K to $100K per company for code, chat, email and documents. Both are also the shutdown service provider, so the company handling your dissolution is the same one making the offer, and end buyers are not always disclosed to founders. Coverage in MIT Technology Review and Fast Company describes the market.

4. AI labs (8)

Google, xAI, OpenAI, Meta, Anthropic, Amazon, Microsoft and Apple are the end buyers. Their disclosed deals are mostly with publishers, from $5,000 per book title to more than $250M over five years. Direct purchases of company records are rare: Google’s $10M bid for Spirit Airlines’ records in its 2026 bankruptcy auction, reported by CSO Online and TechRadar, is the public example. Most labs buy company data through the vendors above or through partnership programs with an interest form.

5. Brokers (2)

A broker works for the seller and never takes a position in the data. Bright Info runs sealed bid rounds among the vendors, marketplaces and labs on this page, negotiates term, exclusivity and use, and is paid a commission from the closed deal by the buyer the owner chooses. Miro Advisory describes a similar service but publishes no fee, no team and no track record, and its domain was registered in April 2026.

6. Big tech infrastructure (1)

Cloudflare’s Pay Per Crawl lets a website set a per-request price that AI crawlers pay to read its pages. It monetizes public web content rather than internal records, so it sits in its own category.

How much do data monetization companies pay?

Three ranges have been disclosed in 2026, by the companies themselves, by the press or in court filings.

Published 2026 price ranges for company data licensed to AI buyers
SellerRangeBasis
Closing startups$10K–$100KPer company, for workspace and code archives sold through wind-down services. Largely self-reported by the intermediaries.
Operating companies, 20–500 staff$100K–$4MPer license, from the partnership ranges AI data vendors published in 2026.
Large enterprises$7.5M–$12.5MBids for Spirit Airlines’ records (about 100 million emails, 500 million Teams messages and 30 million lines of code) in its 2026 bankruptcy auction, from court filings.

Within a range, four things move the number: how many years the record covers, how many systems it spans, how much visible reasoning it contains (decisions, escalations and handoffs rather than notifications), and whether the license is exclusive. The Spirit auction also showed what one competing bid does: a second bidder raised the offer from $10M to $12.5M, a 25% increase.

How to choose a data monetization company

Six questions separate a good offer from an expensive one. The “Watch for” column records where public reporting has raised each of them.

  1. Who de-identifies the data, and when? Names, customers and accounts should be removed before the record leaves your systems, by a party you can verify, not by the buyer after transfer.
  2. Is the license bounded? Look for a fixed term, a field of use limited to AI training, and resale rights that stay with you. A perpetual exclusive license means you can never sell the same record again.
  3. When do you get paid? Terms range from seven days after signing to 60 days after the lab pays the marketplace. Milestone and revenue-share structures move the risk to you.
  4. Is the end buyer disclosed? Most vendors resell to labs at an undisclosed markup. You should at least know the category of the buyer who ends up with your data.
  5. What does the company disclose about itself? Fees, team, security history and ownership. A March 2026 breach, a 49% stake held by an AI lab, or an anonymous operator are all on this page.
  6. How many offers will you see? One buyer sets one price. A broker or a competitive process puts several offers side by side and lets you pick, or walk away.

The security and data handling page describes how Bright Info applies each of these in its own process.

How we built this list

Every row comes from the company’s own site or pricing page, from press reporting, or from court filings in the Spirit Airlines case. Ranges marked “reported” are third-party figures that the company has not confirmed. “Watch for” notes are drawn from public reporting and are not our own claims; “None found” means we found nothing, not that nothing exists. We review the table monthly and when a deal is disclosed, and the date at the top of the page changes when a row does. Bright Info is a sell-side broker and appears in the table as such; the other 31 companies are the buyers it invites to bid. To correct a figure, write to hello@brightinfo.com.

Primary sources for the market figures on this page:

  • CSO Online, TechRadar and AI Weekly on the Spirit Airlines auction: Google’s $10M winning bid, Mercor’s $7.5M backup bid and micro1’s late $12.5M offer, from court filings.
  • MIT Technology Review, Fast Company and Gizmodo on wind-down archive sales of $10K to $100K per company.
  • TechCrunch on the agent-training environment market.
  • Each company’s own site or pricing page, linked from its name in the table, for published ranges and terms.

Full list and the method behind the $100K–$4M operating-company range: sources and methodology.

About the author

Erik Rivera is the founder of Bright Info, a sell-side broker that runs sealed-bid processes among the AI data buyers on this page for operating companies’ records. He tracks the buyers’ published terms, pricing and press coverage as part of that work, and maintains this list from it. Before tech and entrepreneurship he was a Naval Special Operations officer and a graduate of the United States Naval Academy. Bright Info is not a law firm and does not give legal advice. Why he built Bright Info · hello@brightinfo.com

FAQ

Data monetization companies: the questions owners ask.

How much money do companies get for selling their data?

Published 2026 deals run from $10K to $100K for the Slack, email, code and document archives of startups that are shutting down, $100K to $4M per license for operating companies with 20 to 500 staff, and $7.5M to $12.5M in the bids for Spirit Airlines’ business records in its bankruptcy auction. Years of history, the number of systems covered and how much visible reasoning the record contains move the price more than raw volume.

How do I monetize my company’s data?

Four routes exist. Sell or license it to an AI data vendor that resells to labs. List it on a data marketplace and set your own price. Use a wind-down service if the company is closing. Or hire a sell-side broker that makes those buyers bid against each other and negotiates the license on your side. Whichever route you take, check your rights to license the data first, keep personal and client-held data out, and license for a bounded term rather than selling outright.

What are the top data monetization companies for AI training data?

It depends on what you hold. For an operating company’s Slack, email, CRM and ticket history, the active buyers are AI data vendors such as micro1, Handshake AI, Mercor, Polyshares, Telegraph Lab and Ooak Data, with published or reported ranges of $100K to $4M. For a closing startup, SimpleClosure and Sunset pay $10K to $100K. For codebases, Turing, AfterQuery and DataVendor (HUD) buy or list them. For video, audio and media, Troveo, Protege and Wirestock run marketplaces. Bright Info is a broker that invites all of these buyers to bid on one record.

What is the difference between a data vendor, a data marketplace and a data broker?

A data vendor buys or licenses your data and resells it to AI labs, keeping the spread. A marketplace lists your dataset and takes a cut when a buyer pays, usually 20% to 40% on the platforms that publish a split, and you set the price. A sell-side broker never takes a position in the data: it runs a competitive process among vendors, marketplaces and labs, negotiates the license for you, and is paid from the closed deal.

Is it legal to sell my company’s data to AI companies?

Usually, with care. Holding data is not the same as having the right to license it. Employee notices, customer and vendor contracts, NDAs and the terms of the software the data came from all need checking, and personal data has to be removed by a de-identification process you can verify. Sensitive categories such as HR files, health records and data you hold for clients should stay out. Have counsel review the license before you sign. This is general information, not legal advice.

Which companies buy data from a startup that is shutting down?

SimpleClosure and Sunset specialise in it, with published deals of $10K to $100K per company for code, chat, email and document archives. Data vendors such as Mercor and micro1 also buy from closing startups, and xAI has explored it. Because employee and customer relationships have ended, the legal review is often simpler than for an operating company.

Do data monetization companies pay for Slack and email archives?

Yes. Team chat and email are the most requested records because they show real decisions, escalations and handoffs. Handshake AI, Polyshares, Telegraph Lab, Ooak Data and micro1 all list Slack or email among the data they buy, and Spirit Airlines’ package included about 100 million emails and 500 million Teams messages. Names, customers and accounts are removed before training.

Should I sell my company’s data or license it?

License it, almost always. A sale or a perpetual exclusive license means you can never offer the same record again, and several vendors on this page publish exactly those terms. A license with a bounded term, a field of use limited to AI training and resale rights that stay with you can be worth more over time than a higher one-off number.

Don't pick one

Make them bid.

Bright Info invites the buyers on this page to compete for your record, then negotiates price and terms on your side. You pick the offer, or walk away.

Get your data valued

Two-minute intake. Estimated range in 48 hours. No commitment.